FORGOTTEN TOMB Premieres “Hurt Yourself and The Ones You Love”

Italian black/doom metallers FORGOTTEN TOMB will release their new album “Hurt Yourself and The Ones You Love” on  April 17th in Europe and April 21st in North America via Agonia Records. In anticipation, the band unveiled the album’s title track (and music video). The video can be seen in the YouTube clip below.

In a recent interview with, the band’s mastermind Ferdinando “Herr Morbid” Marchisio commented that: “[recording the new album] was hard work but at the same time it has been a rewarding experience. Producer Terje Refnses is a skilled and experienced guy, and he managed to get the best out of us and guide us towards the best choices for the sound on the album. We took a “old-fashioned” approach to the recording, limiting the use of softwares to a minimum and mostly trying to play as tight and live as possible. We also worked on our own overnight doing some overdubs and stuff like that. It was good to get those 2 weeks off and focus only on the album without too many distractions. we wanted to have a more natural and organic sound compared to the last 2 albums and I think we succeeded”. 

Earlier this year Marchisio said that the new opus is “a mix of melancholy, groove and pure malignancy”. An organic and natural sound embraces seven new tracks, featuring the band’s classic trademark style, along with some new ideas. 

“Hurt Yourself and The Ones You Love” serves as the follow-up to 2012’s “…And Don’t Deliver Us From Evil” album. The new album cover is available below. 

“Hurt Yourself and The Ones You Love” was recorded and mixed in Sound Suite Studios (Marseille, France) with Terje Refsnes (Carpathian Forest, Novembre,Gehenna, Destroyer 666) behind the knobs. Brad Boatright of Audiosiege Studio(Corrosion Of Conformity, Nails, Vallenfyre, Beastmilk, High On Fire) took care of the mastering in Portland (Oregon, USA).

“Hurt Yourself and The Ones You Love” tracklist:
1- Soulless Upheaval
2- King Of The Undesirables
3- Bad Dreams Come True
4- Hurt Yourself And The Ones You Love
5- Mislead The Snakes
6- Dread The Sundown
7- Swallow The Void

Ferdinando “Herr Morbid” Marchisio – guitar, vocals
Andrea “A.” Ponzoni – lead guitar
Alessandro “Algol” Comerio – bass
Kyoo Nam “Asher” Rossi – drums

Forgotten Tomb - Hurt Yourself and The Ones You Love


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s