ATHEIST Preparing To Record New Album

Reposted from

Florida-based technical metal pioneers ATHEIST will record their fifth studio album later in the year with producer Jason Suecof (DEATH ANGELJOB FOR A COWBOYGOD FORBIDDEVILDRIVER) for an early 2015 release.

Comments vocalist Kelly Shaefer: “We are happy to report that the fifth ATHEIST LP is in the works, and the band could not be more excited about the possibilities…

“[Returning bassist] Tony Choy will join us this go-around, and having the endless rhythmic possibilities will be amazing.

“We will be working with Jason Suecof on this record. He has such a vast wealth of knowledge of our history as well as our sound, and we were lucky to be able to have him mix ‘Jupiter’, but this time he will be involved in the recording as well as the mix so that will be beastly!!”

Rounding out the current ATHEIST lineup are drummer Steve Flynn as well as guitarists Chris Martin and Jason Holloway, the latter two of whom joined the band on the past tours but who have not been featured on an ATHEIST recording yet.

ATHEIST has also signed a worldwide management deal with New York-based Extreme Management Group, Inc. (SUFFOCATIONORIGINDECREPIT BIRTHCATTLE DECAPITATIONCRYPTOPSY).

Comments the band: “This is a brand new venture for ATHEIST as we have never had management in our 25-year career, and EMG seems to be the perfect fit.

“We are inspired to set sail, and move forward in this the next, very important phase of the legacy, and integrity of the band, as well as this new album forthcoming.

“They have done great work with bands we are familiar with and friends with, and it is something we had never been afforded in the past to create new ventures for the band, as well as field the ones available to us now.”

The first three studio albums from ATHEIST — “Piece Of Time” (1989), “Unquestionable Presence” (1991) and “Elements” (1993) — were re-released on vinyl in North America in June 2013 via Season Of Mist. The new editions are remastered on colored vinyl and limted to 500 copies per title worldwide.

ATHEIST‘s last abum, 2010’s critically acclaimed “Jupiter”“Jupiter” was released on November 9, 2010 (one day earlier internationally) via Season Of Mist. The CD was recorded at LedBelly studios in Atlanta, Georgia with engineer Matt Washburn and was mixed by Jason Suecof (TRIVIUMCHIMAIRADEVILDRIVER). The cover artwork was created by Eliran Kantor, who has previously worked with TESTAMENTSIGHANACRUSIS and GWAR, among others.


Atheist 2014


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s